Bye-Bye Christianity Hello Atheism (Part two)

I-Quit

Those crazy Christians.

I cannot sit through another ridiculous worship song – simply repeating the same words over and over and over again. How can I continue to associate myself with a people who rely on faith in a god they have never seen? The same god who is allowing the evil from Syria to North Korea to Chicago. These same people who cannot decide whether they love Donald Trump or hate him. The same people who have more denominational sects than the number of likes on a Kim Kardashian Instagram photo. Christians are too fickle to trust and their god is a borderline tyrant. Those crazy, delusional Christians. I am Team Atheist now!

I know what you’re thinking. “How do you know the atheists are right?” Well, good question. Off the top of my head I can give 3 reasons:

1.  I could jump on the giant shipload of people with the plausible claim that the Bible was tampered with by the Roman emperor Constantine and/or by King James for their respective political reasons. Now to be fair to Christians lets admit that the Bible is a collection of documents written in 3 different languages (Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek), written on 3 different continents (Asia, Africa, and Europe), by 40 different authors over the span of 1500 years. Any tampering is extremely complex to pull off.

Not only that but if the Bible was tampered with then they did a terrible job. A good Bible tamper wanting to make Christianity more attractive would remove the part about John The Baptist getting his head chopped off. Also, why not omit the part about God lighting people on fire and killing evil rulers?

Strange thing is that all the older translations validate the accuracy of the King James version (because all translations are done by going back to the original Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek manuscripts and creating the translation from there). In order for The Bible to be secretly doctored then the doctoring must be taken place multiple times over the span of 1500 years on 3 different continents in 3 different languages…all the while not getting caught. Did King James’ staff use their Delta Skymiles to secretly travel from Europe to Africa so quickly?

Ok even though the tampering argument doesn’t hold up I’m going keep faith that it is possible. Hence, Team Atheist!

 

2.  Many Christians today prefer to dodge “unnecessary” conflict by avoiding any discussion on whether Genesis is history or not. On the topic of the validity of the Creation Story, I’ll admit, being an engineer and an atheist simultanouesly would be a little tough for me to believe the Atheists. It’s a dilemma because there is contradiction there. Secular science claims that Genesis is a myth but then cannot explain how some things occurred otherwise.

For example, I have undergraduate/graduate studies in geotechnical engineering and coastal engineering – including erosion, scouring, and sediment transport. If you look at the remarkable layering of the Grand Canyon you will see that it is sharply cut out. Basic engineering law would say it is impossible for the Colorado River to have done this feat over the span of millions of years. Many geologists have finally abandoned this once agreed upon secular theory.

The soil layering upon the sides of the Grand Canyon would simply collapse as the soil and rocks slowly erode over time. Our beautiful world wonder would simply not be as majestic. The only way it is possible to explain is with the short time frame in the aftermath of The Great Flood in the Bible. But wait I keep forgetting, I’m on the Atheist Team now. Lets change the subject.

grand-canyon-02

 

3.  Before I get to Number Three I must admit that I am now laughing in my head. What is funny is that if the God of the Bible is not real, if macro-evolution is true, if the Big Bang is true and we’re all chemical reactions…then everything I think and feel is only matter in motion. Therefore there is no way for me to develop the reasoning needed to conclude which of my competing thoughts are true and which are not.

You see, the Big Bang developed an instinct in me. If I have Instinct A vs Instinct B, how can there be a third Instinct that tells how to pick better the two options? My fellow Atheists, I’m on your team but that is not how things work. The Big Bang cannot create a conscience out of meaninglessness to dictate our thoughts. 

bigbang

Not only that, but if we are meaningless matter floating in the air then we are predetermined in every way. Everything becomes subjective. The moment I make a truth claim (i.e. there is no God) then I am rising above the rules of subjectivity. Once this happens I directly violate that determinism. The entire thing is a made-up mind game that goes in an endless, backwards circle.

Ooooh forget it. Why am I trying to kid myself? I will quit being an Atheist now. At least I fought the good fight for a solid 2 hours. Being an atheist would be far too much mental denial for me. Atheism is an uncomfortable faith. Secularists assume the current scientific paradigm is true when historically we have always had scientific paradigms collapse. Science constantly changes on itself. But hey, maybe our known science today is 100% true for the first time in human history. That is a risky gamble to trust my life with though.

Ok I’m back on Team Christianity! You can call this sudden return an epiphany. Or…or maybe what it is is belief in something which my soul knew was true all along. Maybe this is Truth.

I’d rather go back to church and sing worship songs with my hands raised. As the great philosopher Brad Paisley once put it, “What if they’re wrong what if they’re right? Those Crazy Christians.”

On a similar note, there is an extremely great question we tend to ask – “How could an all-powerful, all-loving God allow evil and suffering in this world?” Well, that is a discussion for a latter post. What a great God we have who allows us to search the mysterious wonders of his ways. As Ecclesiastes 4 and Hebrews 11 put it: Mystery is a prerequisite to Faith. And without Faith it is impossible to please Him.

 

 

One thought on “Bye-Bye Christianity Hello Atheism (Part two)

Leave a Reply

